Water soluble fertilizers

Purified concentrated phosphate-containing fertilizers, such as monoammonium phosphate (MAP), diammonium phosphate (DAP) and monopotassium phosphate (MPP) are completely water soluble and therefore represent a special class of products used for fertigation systems, foliar feeding of field plants and crops, including greenhouses.

Depending on the final product requirements (the content of the main nutritional components), as well as used WPA composition, purified water soluble MAP is produced:

  1. From wet-process phosphoric acid (WPA) by chemical precipitation of impurities;
  2. From pre-purified wet-process phosphoric acid with organic extractants.

1.jpg

Fig. 1. Purified crystalline MAP

Table 1. Water soluble MAP fertilizer specifications

Specification

Standard

Physical form

White powder product

Mass fraction of total nitrogen (N), %

12±1

Including ammonium nitrogen, %

12±1

Mass fraction of water soluble phosphates recalculated to P2O5, %

61±1

Mass fraction of water, %, not more than

0,3

Mass fraction of insoluble residue, %, not more than

0,1

Friability, %

100

NIUIF employees together with Voskresensky JSC NIUIF have been developing and improving the technology of purified phosphates since the 90s of the last century.

Water soluble MAP technology from WPA by chemical precipitation of impurities

WPA is neutralized with ammonia in a pipe reactor to the desired NH3:H3PO4 ratio. The resulting slurry after aging in a tank enters the filter presses to separate the precipitated impurities.

The filtrate is fed to the evaporator and then to a vacuum crystallizer. Suspension from crystallizer is fed to the centrifuge separator (cyclone). Wet MAP crystals are sent to the drying drum (or fluid bed dryer). Dried MAP is sent for cooling and then packing. The mother liquor from centrifuges (centrate) is sent for mixing of the residue, precipitated on filter presses. This residue is used for granular fertilizers manufacturing.

Water soluble fertilizer manufacturers are faced with the problem of eliminating the turbidity of solutions obtained by MAP crystals dissolution. To solve this problem, it is proposed to carry out additional purification by dissolving crystals, filtration of the resulting solution, evaporation and secondary crystallization. Taking into account the laboratory studies results, it is assumed that with the use of the described additional stages, it will be possible to obtain a water-soluble MAP with a high degree of purity, including feed quality. On top of that, an additional stage of recrystallization and filtration makes it possible to minimize the influence of the parent WPA quality, associated, for example, with fluctuations in the impurity composition of the used phosphate raw material.

WSF 2.jpg

Fig.2. Purified MAP manufacture flowsheet with chemical precipitation of impurities

PR - pipe reactor; F - filter presses; VEU - vacuum evaporation unit; VC - vacuum crystallizer; Ce - centrifuge; DD - drying drum; С - cooler; V - vessel; P - pump.

Water soluble MAP technology from pre-purified WPA

WPA pre-purification technology has several advantages:

  • possibility to use WPA with high content of impurities;
  • possibility to manufacture purified commercial phosphoric acid;
  • possibility to manufacture purified phosphates (MAP/DAP/MPP) with a higher nutrient content;
  • possibility to manufacture liquid complex fertilizers based on polyphosphates 11:37;
  • possibility to manufacture feed phosphates and bring them to food grade quality.

WPA purification stage

WPA is desulphurized with apatite in a tank reactor and then fed for clarification in a thin layer settler. After the settler, the condensed part is used for fertilizers’ manufacture.

The desulphated clarified phosphoric acid is sent for purification of impurities through liquid extraction using organic extractant (TBP). The extraction process is carried out in pulsed columns. After purification with tributyl phosphate (TBP), phosphoric acid is sent for evaporation and additional purification from fluoride through fire evaporation. Part of the acid, contaminated with impurities, is used for fertilizers’ manufacture.

MAP manufacture

Purified phosphoric acid is neutralized with ammonia in pipe reactor. The neutralized solution is evaporated and then fed to a vacuum crystallizer. Suspension from the crystallizer is fed to the centrifuge separator. Wet MAP crystals are sent to a drying drum. Dried MAP is sent for cooling and then packing. The mother liquor from the separator is sent for evaporation and recycling to the neutralization stage (in a mixture with purified phosphoric acid).

WSF 3.jpg

Fig.3. Purified MAP manufacture flowsheet with WPA prepurification

S - settler; PC - pulsed column; FEU - fire evaporation unit; PR - pipe reactor; VEU - vacuum evaporation unit; VC - vacuum crystallizer; Ce - centrifuge; DD - drying drum; С - cooler; V - vessel; P - pump.

Water soluble MCP technology

The main method of obtaining monocalcium phosphate (MCP) is the neutralization of phosphoric acid with potassium carbonate (potash) or potassium hydroxide. Depending on the method of WPA and potash (or potassium hydroxide) impurities separation, there are two options for setting the process of obtaining water soluble MCP, similar to the water soluble MAP technology:

  • with purification from impurities by chemical precipitation without preliminary WPA purification;
  • with preliminary WPA purification by liquid extraction and subsequent purification from impurities by chemical precipitation.

The first option requires fewer capital costs, however, it will most likely be impossible to obtain a food-grade product according to this flowsheet. Process flowsheet for obtaining water soluble MCP with purification from impurities by chemical precipitation without preliminary WPA purification is shown in Fig. 4.

Figure 4. Process flowsheet for obtaining water soluble MCP with purification from impurities by chemical precipitation

The second option allows to obtain water soluble MCP of high quality (including food-grade), since the preliminary WPA purification by liquid extraction allows to effectively remove harmful impurities (heavy metals, arsenic, etc.), but significantly increases the cost of the process. To obtain a water soluble product, additional purification from insoluble impurities may be required after neutralization of the purified WPA. Process flowsheet for obtaining water soluble MCP with preliminary WPA purification by liquid extraction is shown in Fig 5.


Figure 5. Process flowsheet for obtaining water soluble MCP with preliminary WPA purification by liquid extraction

Водорастворимые удобрения

Очищенные концентрированные фосфорсодержащие удобрения, такие моноаммонийфосфат, диаммонийфосфат, монокалийфосфат, являются полностью водорастворимыми удобрениями и потому представляют особый класс продуктов, применяемых для систем фертигации, внекорневых подкормок полевых продуктов, в т.ч. тепличных хозяйств.

В зависимости от требований конечного продукта (содержания основных питательных компонентов), а также состава применяемой экстракционной фосфорной кислоты, очищенный водорастворимый МАФ производится:

  1. Из экстракционной фосфорной кислоты (ЭФК) путем химического осаждения примесей;
  2. Из предварительно очищенной экстракционной фосфорной кислоты с использованием органических экстрагентов.

1.jpg

Рис. 1. Внешний вид очищенного кристаллического моноаммонийфосфата

Таблица 1. Нормируемые показатели водорастворимого удобрительного моноаммонийфосфата

Наименование показателя

Норма

Внешний вид

Белый порошкообразный продукт

Массовая доля общего азота (N), %

12±1

В том числе аммонийного азота, %

12±1

Массовая доля водорастворимых фосфатов в пересчёте на P2O5, %

61±1

Массовая доля воды, %, не более

0,3

Массовая доля нерастворимого остатка, %, не более

0,1

Рассыпчатость, %

100


Сотрудники НИУИФ совместно с АО «Воскресенский НИУиФ» ведут разработку и совершенствование технологии очищенных фосфатов с 90-х годов прошлого века.

Технология водорастворимого МАФ из ЭФК путем химического осаждения примесей

Исходная экстракционная фосфорная кислота нейтрализуется аммиаком в трубчатом реакторе (или емкостном нейтрализаторе) до требуемого соотношения NH3:H3PO4. Полученная пульпа после выдержки в емкости (или каскаде емкостей) поступает на фильтрацию в пресс-фильтры для отделения осажденных примесей.

Фильтрат поступает на упаривание и далее подается в вакуум-кристаллизатор. Суспензия из кристаллизатора поступает на разделение в центрифуги. Влажные кристаллы МАФ направляются на сушку в сушильный барабан (или аппарат кипящего слоя). Высушенный МАФ подается на охлаждение и далее на фасовку. Маточный раствор от центрифуг (фугат) направляется на репульпирование осадка, отделенного на пресс-фильтрах. Репульпированный осадок выводится в производство гранулированных удобрений.

Производители водорастворимых удобрений сталкиваются с проблемой, связанной с устранением мутности растворов, полученных при растворении кристаллов МАФ. Для решения данной проблемы предлагается осуществлять дополнительную очистку путем растворения кристаллов, фильтрации полученного раствора, упарки и вторичной кристаллизации. С учетом результатов проведенных лабораторных исследований предполагается, что с применением описанных дополнительных стадий появится возможность получения водорастворимого МАФ с высокой степенью чистоты, в том числе кормового качества. Кроме того, дополнительная стадия перекристаллизации и фильтрации позволяет минимизировать влияние качества исходной ЭФК, связанное, например, с колебаниями примесного состава используемого фосфатного сырья.

2.jpg

Рис.2. Принципиальная технологическая схема получения очищенного МАФ с химическим осаждением примесей

Технология водорастворимого МАФ из предварительно очищенной экстракционной фосфорной кислоты

Технология с предварительной очисткой экстракционной фосфорной кислоты имеет несколько преимуществ:

  • возможность использовать экстракционную фосфорную кислоту с повышенным содержанием примесей;
  • возможность получения очищенной товарной фосфорной кислоты;
  • возможность получения очищенных фосфатов (МАФ/ДАФ/ монокалийфосфат) с более высоких содержанием питательных веществ;
  • возможность получения жидких комплексных удобрений на основе полифосфатов 11:37;
  • возможность получения кормовых фосфатов и доведения до пищевого качества.

Стадия очистки экстракционной фосфорной кислоты

ЭФК обессульфачивается апатитом в емкостном реакторе и далее подается на осветление в тонкослойный отстойник. Сгущенная часть после отстойника выводится в производство удобрений.

Обессульфаченная осветленная фосфорная кислота поступает на очистку от примесей методом жидкостной экстракции с использованием органического экстрагента (трибутилфосфата). Процесс экстракции проводят в пульсационных колоннах. После очистки трибутилфосфатом (ТБФ) фосфорная кислота поступает на упаривание и дополнительную очистку от фтора на установку огневой упарки. Часть кислоты, загрязненная примесями, выводится в производство удобрений.

Стадия получения МАФ

Очищенная фосфорная кислота нейтрализуется аммиаком в трубчатом реакторе. Нейтрализованный раствор упаривается и далее подается в вакуум-кристаллизатор. Суспензия из кристаллизатора поступает на разделение в центрифуги. Влажные кристаллы МАФ направляются в сушильный барабан. Высушенный МАФ подается на охлаждение и далее на фасовку. Маточный раствор из центрифуги направляется на упаривание и далее возвращается в технологический процесс на стадию нейтрализации (в смеси с очищенной фосфорной кислотой).


Рис.3. Принципиальная технологическая схема получения очищенного МАФ с предварительной очисткой ЭФК

Технология водорастворимого МКФ

Основным способом получения монокалийфосфата (МКФ) является нейтрализация фосфорной кислоты карбонатом калия (поташом) или гидроксидом калия. В зависимости от способа выделения примесей, поступающих с ЭФК и поташом (или гидроксидом калия), возможны два варианта организации процесса получения водорастворимого монокалийфосфата, аналогичные технологии водорастворимого МАФ:

  • с очисткой от примесей методом химического осаждения без предварительной очистки ЭФК;
  • с предварительной очисткой ЭФК методом жидкостной экстракции и последующей очисткой от примесей методом химического осаждения.

Организация процесса по первому варианту требует меньших капитальных затрат, однако получение продукта пищевого качества по такой схеме, скорее всего, будет невозможно. Блок-схема процесса получения водорастворимого монокалийфосфата с очисткой от примесей методом химического осаждения без предварительной очистки ЭФК показана на рис. 4.

1.png

Рисунок 4. Блок-схема процесса получения водорастворимого монокалийфосфата с очисткой от примесей методом химического осаждения

Второй вариант позволяет получать водорастворимый монокалийфосфат высокого качества (в т.ч. пищевого), поскольку предварительная очистка ЭФК методом жидкостной экстракции позволяет эффективно удалять вредные примеси (тяжелые металлы, мышьяк и т.д.), однако существенно удорожает процесс. Для получения водорастворимого продукта может потребоваться дополнительная очистка от нерастворимых примесей после нейтрализации очищенной ЭФК.

Блок-схема процесса получения водорастворимого монокалийфосфата с предварительной очисткой ЭФК методом жидкостной экстракции показана на рис. 5.

2.png

Рисунок 5. Блок-схема процесса получения водорастворимого монокалийфосфата с предварительной очисткой ЭФК методом жидкостной экстракции